Marie R. Baldisseri, MD, FCCM

Baldisseri is an Associate Professor in the Department of Critical Care Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. She received her medical degree at the University of Navarra, Spain. She is chair of the Neuroscience section of SCCM, and is chair-elect of the Internal Medicine section. She is also a member of the Board of Regents of the American College of Critical Care Medicine, and Co-Chair of the Rapid Response System Task Force of SCCM.

Dana A.V. Braner, MD, FCCM

BranerBraner specializes in the care of critically ill infants and children. He is the chief of the division of critical care and the vice chair of inpatient clinical services at Doernbecher children’s hospital. In addition Braner spends a part of each year in disaster relief efforts around the world and in the United States. Braner, is a member of the National Disaster Medical Service, and is currently chair of the Fundamentals of Disaster Medicine committee for the Society of Critical Care Medicine.

Ivor S. Douglas, MD

Ivor S. Douglas, MD
Ivor S. Douglas, MD, served as an organizational principal to the Hospital Quality Alliance for the Society of Critical Care Medicine. He serves as chair of the Society’s Quality and Safety Committee.  He is Chief of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine and Director of Medical Intensive Care at the Denver Health Medical Center in Colorado. He is associate professor of medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine.

Samuel M. Galvagno Jr., DO, PhD

Samuel M. Galvagno Jr., DO
Galvagno is an Assistant Professor at the University of Maryland, R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, and is board certified in anesthesiology, critical care medicine, and public health. He earned his PhD in Clinical Investigation from Johns Hopkins in 2012. His major interests include aeromedical critical care, pain management in the ICU, medical education, and patient safety. He teaches FCCS, ACLS, PALS, and ATLS. A major in the United States Air Force, he is the Director of Critical Care Air Transport Team (CCATT) Operations at the 943rd Aerospace Medicine Squadron at the 943rd Rescue Group, Davis-Monthan Air Force Base, Arizona. 

Michael Howell, MD, MPH

Michael Howell, MD, MPH
Howell is the Associate Director of Medical Critical Care at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC) a teaching hospital of the Harvard Medical School. He also serves as Director of Critical Care Quality at the Silverman Institute for Health Care Quality and Safety. The Critical Care Quality Division helps align and implement quality and safety priorities across all of the nine ICUs and five physician specialties that provide critical care at BIDMC. Dr. Howell is currently the Chair of the Paragon Critical Care Quality Implementation Program at SCCM and also is a Paragon Coach. Before entering medicine, Howell consulted in materials purchasing workflow analysis and automation for the company that built most of the space shuttles. He has been an SCCM member since 2003.

Judith Jacobi, PharmD, BCPS, FCCM

Judith Jacobi, PharmD, BCPS, FCCM
Jacobi, past president of the Society of Critical Care Medicine, is part of the multi-professional ICU team as a Critical Care Pharmacy Specialist for the adult critical care and neurocritical care units at Methodist Hospital, a division of Clarian Health Partners in Indianapolis, Indiana. She is a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist. In that role she provides care to a variety of critically ill patients in additional to participating in multi-professional education and quality improvement. Additionally, she is the Program Director of a Critical Care Pharmacy Residency. Jacobi has been a member of Council since 1999 and has been in the leadership of the Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacology Section of SCCM as well as having active involvement in several other committees. She is a regular contributor to the development of guidelines and practice parameters.

David J. Martin, CAE

David J. Martin, CAEMartin is the chief executive officer and executive vice-president of the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM). Since managing the relocation of the Society’s international headquarters to the Chicago area in 2001, SCCM’s growth has been impressive. As a certified association executive (CAE), Martin has worked closely with society leadership to bring professional operating standards and principles to SCCM. He instituted the concept of staff and volunteer partnership to develop and manage society programs better and played a leadership role in the strategic planning process responsible for instituting many new programs to serve the society’s multiprofessional membership. Martin leads the Society’s 60 multi-professional staff.

Mary J. Reed, MD, FCCM

Mary J. Reed, MD, FCCMReed practices general and laparoscopic surgery in Danville, PA, with Geisinger Medical Center. She received her medical degree from University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. Along with her care of critically ill and injured patients, she has an interest in trauma medicine and resident education. She has been a member of the FCCS Program Committee and is actively involved as a consultant for the FCCS and FDM courses.

Daniel E. Sloniewsky, MD

Daniel E. Sloniewsky, MDDaniel Sloniewsky is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the Stony Brook Long Island Children’s Hospital in Stony Brook, NY, where he is board certified in Pediatrics and Pediatric Critical Care. He completed his Fellowship training at Children’s Memorial Hospital and Northwestern University in Chicago. His major interests are in acute pediatric pulmonary disease, transfusion medicine and ethics. He is also actively involved in resident education, Pediatric Advanced Life Support and Pediatric FCCS instruction.

Cynthia Stavish, BSN, RN, PHN, CCRN

Cynthia Stavish, BSN, RN, PHN, CCRNStavish is an adult acute care nurse clinician from the Minneapolis/Saint Paul area, certified in critical care and public health nursing. She is completing a master’s of science degree in nursing from the University of Minnesota, School of Nursing after recently completing a mini-master’s certification in project management at Auburn University. A member of the SCCM Advocacy Committee, her major interests include evidence-based nursing, pain management and identification and management of delirium in the critically ill.

Randy S. Wax, MD, MEd, FCCM

Randy S. Wax, MD, MEd, FCCMWax is an Assistant Professor of Critical Care at the Department of Medicine, University of Toronto. He is an attending intensivist at Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto, Canada, and is their Medical Director for the Program for Resuscitation Education and Patient Safety (PREPS). Wax is the Critical Care consultant for the Emergency Medical Assistance Team for the Province of Ontario, and a Transport Medicine Physician with Ornge, Ontario’s Air Ambulance program. Dr. Wax is the Chair of the Fundamental Disaster Management committee for SCCM, and has recently also served as the Chair of SCCM’s H1N1 Task Force.

Recent Comments